close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Akron Family's Story

From the idyllic Philippines to WWII Japanese Prison Camp

2019-11-09 14:00:00 2019-11-09 16:00:00 America/New_York Akron Family's Story Reed Memorial Library

Saturday, November 09
2:00pm - 4:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-11-09 14:00:00 2019-11-09 16:00:00 America/New_York Akron Family's Story Joe Huber Jr. will share his mother's autobiography, Such a Life Reed Memorial Library

Reed Memorial Library

Jenkins Room

Joe Huber Jr. will share his mother's autobiography, Such a Life

Joe Huber Jr. grew up on a remote Filipino rubber plantation, 80 miles from the nearest city and accessible only by water. Surrounded by servants in a huge house, he and his siblings each had their own amahs (nannies) until he was six and before he was eight, he had crossed the Pacific Ocean three times on luxury liners in month-long voyages. Then came 31 months as prisoners in Japanese prison camps. Joe devoted his career to repaying America for their family's rescue. He will share his family's story and photographs. 

AGE GROUP: | Everyone |

EVENT TYPE: | Local History | General |

TAGS: | |

Reed Memorial Library

Phone: (330)-296-2827
Fax: (330) 296-3780

Hours
We're closed Thursday November 28
Mon, Nov 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Nov 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Nov 22 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 23 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Nov 24 1:00PM to 5:00PM

Upcoming events

Sat, Nov 23, 10:00am - 4:00pm
Jenkins Room

Sun, Nov 24, 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Mon, Nov 25, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Carlin Room

Tue, Nov 26, 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Carlin Room

Wed, Nov 27, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Room

Wed, Nov 27, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Room

Thu, Nov 28, All day

Mon, Dec 02, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Children's Room
This event is full

Tue, Dec 03, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Carlin Room

Tue, Dec 03, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Jenkins Room

Wed, Dec 04, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Room

Wed, Dec 04, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Room

Thu, Dec 05, 10:00am - 10:20am
Children's Room

Thu, Dec 05, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Room
This event is full

Thu, Dec 05, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Haymaker Room
This event is full

Fri, Dec 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Jenkins Room

Mon, Dec 09, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Room

Mon, Dec 09, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Jenkins Room

Tue, Dec 10, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Jenkins Room
This event is full

Wed, Dec 11, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Room

Wed, Dec 11, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Room

Wed, Dec 11, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Haymaker/Jenkins Room

Thu, Dec 12, 10:00am - 10:20am
Children's Room

Thu, Dec 12, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Room
This event is full

Sat, Dec 14, 9:00am - 12:00pm
Jenkins Room

Sat, Dec 14, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Carlin Room

Tue, Dec 17, 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Carlin Room

Tue, Dec 17, 6:00pm - 6:30pm
Children's Room

Wed, Dec 18, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Carlin Room

Wed, Dec 18, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Jenkins Room

Thu, Dec 19, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Haymaker Room